What is an Arkansas Criminal Record?
An Arkansas criminal record, also known as a rap sheet, is an official document that contains the criminal history information of persons within the state. The information in an Arkansas state criminal record is assembled from local, county and Arkansas law enforcement agencies. The information can also be obtained from trial court, appeal courts as well as county and Arkansas state correctional facilities. It includes details of all arrests, indictments, judgments, and pending dispositions.
Are Criminal Records Public in Arkansas?
The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) establishes that all documents kept by any government agency in Arkansas are public records. Therefore, members of the public have unlimited access to the records, except when otherwise stated by the law. Certain criminal records can be sealed, and information not available at the local level if the record has been sealed or expunged. Arkansas public criminal records generally features the following:
- The full name of the subject of the record (including any aliases)
- A mugshot of the subject and details of unique physical descriptors
- The birth date of the offender
- A full set of fingerprints
- All indictments (both past and most recent)
- Arrest information as well as past/outstanding warrants
- Dispositions and conviction information
Criminal records, considered public in the United States, are made available through some third-party aggregate sites. Searching with third-party websites is often easier as the information is not limited to geographic record availability. Information found on third-party websites can serve as a jumping off point for parties searching for a specific record or multiple records. Typically, requesters must provide the following information to gain access to these records:
- The record subject’s name, unless the subject is a juvenile.
- The record subjects’ last known location, including cities, counties, and states.
Third-party websites offer these search services, but they are not government sponsored. Availability of records may vary.
How to Obtain Criminal Records in Arkansas?
In the state of Arkansas, criminal records are generated and managed by local jurisdictions which are charged with disseminating them to interested members of the public. The Arkansas State Police Department operates a central repository of criminal records. Interested parties can perform a criminal records search through the Online Criminal Background Check System. To perform a criminal record search at the state’s official site, a requester will need to register with the Information Network of Arkansas (INA) to gain online access to the official database. Alternatively, the requester can send a mailing request to access the criminal records database which costs $25 each. When submitting the mailing request, attach the specific background checks form that has been filled correctly.
The cost of requesting a background check varies based on the type of background check. Generally, Arkansas state name based background check requests cost $22, whereas volunteers are expected to $11. To do a fingerprint based background check, a requester will pay $14.25. Whereas volunteers are required to pay $12.25. However, most jurisdictions operate unique record management processes, thus, the information available on these records may vary by jurisdiction. Most criminal record sources utilize different non-standardized state level protocols, storage classifications, requirements, organization and digitization processes for on-demand court records. It is possible to obtain completely free public criminal records. However, the records may contain information that is incomplete.
What are Arrest Records in Arkansas?
Arkansas arrest records are the official documentation of an individual’s apprehension and detention following an alleged involvement in criminal activity. While these records do not conclusively indicate that the subject is guilty of the alleged crime, there is a clear indication that the subject was deemed a person of interest or suspect in the course of an investigation. Arrest records are typically generated and disseminated by the arresting agency. In the state of Arkansas, arrest records are considered public records. Arkansas arrest records contain the following:
- Details of the alleged crime
- The personal data of the arrestee such as their full name, birth date, and fingerprint
- The date, place and time of the arrest
- The address of the holding facility
- The name of the arresting officer as well as the issuer of the warrant.
Although arrest records are included in Arkansas police records, police records also contain police reports, incident reports, and police activity logs.
Are Arrest Records Public in Arkansas?
Yes. Once an arrest was made by a law enforcement agency in Arkansas, a record is opened for the suspect; such record is considered public record per the FOIA. Public arrest records are typically created and maintained by the Sheriff of a county or Chief of Police. A requester can check with the state police of the department of public safety to perform an arrest search for these records. Inexpensive or free arrest records may exist, but standard copy fees and certification fees apply.
What is an Arrest Warrant in Arkansas?
Arkansas arrest warrants are official documents that give law enforcement agencies the legal authority to take suspected criminals into custody. In the state of Arkansas, arrest warrants are primarily issued by the judge or magistrate of the concerned jurisdiction. The state of Arkansas does not have a central database for arrest warrants, but residents can perform an active warrant search through the local county sheriff’s websites and offices. Arrest warrants issued in the state of Arkansas feature the following details:
- The alleged criminal offense of the subject
- The name of the issuer and the date the warrant was issued
- The expiration date of the warrant (if applicable)
- The place and time when the arrest may ensue
- The bail/bond conditions to be met (if applicable)
As per Arkansas state law, law enforcement officers may arrest without warrants if the officer is witness to the crime, or is convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that the arrestee has committed a felony.
What are Jail and Inmate Records in Arkansas?
Arkansas inmate records are official documents pertaining to persons who are incarcerated in local or state-run correctional institutions. These records often detail the inmate-specific data such as the full name and alias, their birth date, nationality/ethnicity, gender, and other biological information as well as crime-related data such as their criminal indictments and sentences.
It is the responsibility of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (DOC) to maintain databases with inmate information. These indexes are available online for interested parties to run an inmate search. An inmate lookup can provide both general and inmate-specific information such as a detainee's incarceration date and expected release date. Any information unavailable on the online database may be obtained by querying the facility where the inmate is being housed. Generally, most inmate-related information can be accessed by the public.
Arkansas Sex Offender Registry
Arkansas sex offender registry refer to a record of persons convicted of committing sex or sexually-motivated crimes. In compliance with U.S Megan’s law, all persons found guilty of these or related offenses must be registered, and information regarding location and compliance status published. Thus, sex offender listings seek to publish useful information regarding offenders in different jurisdictions.
With most county and city law enforcement agencies compiling and publishing information regarding their own jurisdictions, the Arkansas Crime Information Center (ACIC) maintains the state's central Sex Offender Registry which pools all the information together. Primarily, judges determine whether certain crimes require registration based on the national sex offender registration law. If convinced that a crime was sexually motivated a judge may order an adult to become a registered sex offender.
What is a DWI in Arkansas?
A DWI in Arkansas is a serious traffic violation which is interpreted typically as the willful disregard for public safety. Once a driver’s state is impaired as a result of a higher blood alcohol content (BAC), this often results in damage to property, serious bodily injury, and death. As per Arkansas motor vehicle laws, traffic violations attract different kinds of penalties depending on the severity of the damage. Drunk driving or driving under the influence of an intoxicant often results in the driver getting points on their license. Accumulated points often result in temporary license suspension and the payment of fines and fees. However, most DUIs& have penalties that include jail time.
The Arkansas Office of Driver Services is tasked with overseeing the process of tracking the violation point system and communicating warnings and proposed actions to drivers. Drivers who accumulate between 14 to 17 points risk a 3-month license suspension while 18 to 23 points may result in a 6-month license suspension and 24 or more points may lead to a possible 1-year license suspension.
What are Misdemeanors vs. Felonies in Arkansas?
Arkansas state misdemeanors are non-indictable offenses that are punishable by incarceration for up to one year in jail. Misdemeanors less severe than felonies and are categorized by a number-based system designed to describe the severity of the alleged crime. Arkansas state misdemeanors may be either designated as a Class A, Class B, or Class C misdemeanor while some misdemeanors remain unclassified. The class of the offense will determine the punishment in length of jail time and/or fines/community service. The following are examples of misdemeanors:
- Class A: Theft of property worth no more than $1000
- Class B: Online bullying
- Class C: Public intoxication
Felony offenses in the state of Arkansas constitute the most serious crime categories and are generally punishable by state prison terms. Felony offenses attract various sentences which may be served in a county jail or state prison. Felonies may also lead to death or life imprisonment.
Arkansas’s lawmakers designate felonies as Class Y, A, B, C, or D. Some felonies are unclassified and, for these crimes, the sentences are set forth in the criminal statute. Class Y felonies are the state's most serious crimes in Arkansas which are not punishable by death. A conviction following a Class Y felony offense can result in a prison term of 10 to 40 years or life. Below are the designation of felonies and their examples:
- Class Y: Statutory rape
- Class A: Possession of at least 10 grams of cocaine
- Class B: First-degree domestic battery/assault
- Class C: Theft of property worth at least $5000
What is Probation and Parole in Arkansas?
Arkansas parole records are generally maintained and disseminated by the Arkansas Parole Board which is tasked with granting early release to prisoners who have met specific conditions and proved themselves fit for re-integration prior to completion of their maximum sentence. Following their parole, the inmate is supervised over a specified period of time, and the parole board is tasked with imposing relevant conditions of parole, it deems appropriate in order to ensure the best interests of the prisoner and the citizens of Arkansas are served. This may include fines, community service, and random drug tests.
Information regarding Arkansas paroles may be found using the Parole Hearing Decision Search Tool of the APB. The tool allows for public convenient access to parole decisions and can be used by conducting searches using the first or last name, gender and ADC number of the inmate. Other information unavailable on the portal may be obtained by contacting the Parole Board's office.
Probation records refer to documents detailing the conditions for which an inmate may serve their sentence under supervision but outside a traditional correctional institution. These records typically indicate that the inmate, in exchange for incarceration, will commit to living by some specified conditions over a period of time.
Like parolees, persons on probation are strictly monitored to ensure their compliance with their specific probation conditions imposed by the judge and probation officer. Probation sentences are typically issued in proportion to the crime. Thus, the span of probation, as well as the required conditions, may differ (sometimes drastically) from case to case. Probationary periods may be minimally supervised or intensive depending on the crime of the convicted person(s) and legal recommendations of the judiciary.
What are Arkansas Juvenile Criminal Records?
Arkansas juvenile court records refer to official documentation regarding the criminal activity of persons deemed to be under the legal adult age within the state. Unlike adult criminal records, Arkansas juvenile criminal records have a few confidentiality clauses given the age of the offender. Minors or adolescents who are guilty of a crime are found to be "adjudicated delinquent".
Arkansas does not have a separate juvenile justice system, but within the discretion of Arkansas circuit courts, all records pertaining to Juveniles may be closed and confidential except for adjudications wherein the juvenile was tried as an adult and adjudications for felonies or class A misdemeanors involving violence with a weapon. Juveniles designated as extended juvenile jurisdiction offenders will have their juvenile criminal records expunged after their twenty-first birthday or 10 years after the last adjudication unless an adult criminal sentence was imposed on the offender. Most records feature details of the crime committed as well as the biodata of the delinquent at the time of the offense.
What are Conviction Records in Arkansas?
Arkansas conviction records are official documents pertaining to the criminal history of an individual which features the sentence(s) served as a result. These records typically indicate that the husubject was found guilty, pleaded guilty or pleaded no contest following a criminal court proceeding for criminal charges in a civilian or military court. Conviction records typically detail the criminal charges along with the personal information of the convicted and details of the jail term(s), fines, community service or related court orders.In addition to featuring adult conviction details, conviction records often also indicate when the subject has been judged delinquent in the past or assigned probation, dishonorably discharged or paroled. These, as well as other related information, will remain indicated on a conviction record unless the final judgment that was deleted by a pardon, reversed or expunged.
Arkansas History and Accuracy of Criminal Records
Prior to the recent technological developments in record management, all record maintenance processes were primarily undertaken manually. Given the method’s propensity for error, the accuracy of the data of criminal records depends largely on the recordkeeping and technological capabilities of the jurisdiction where the record was assembled and later digitized. Other than eliminating human error, the newly adopted methods of record storage allows for easier access to the records as criminal and arrest data have been centralized and compiled into an organized database. That said, varying management processes are adopted by different jurisdictions depending on their unique needs. As a result, the information provided on StateRecords.org may vary between jurisdictions that are primarily in charge of such records.
How to Find Arkansas Criminal History Record for Free
There are very limited options for finding Arkansas criminal history records for free, especially since the state requires inquirers to cover the cost of duplicating any records of interest. However, interested members of the public may view criminal information using the Arkansas Department of Corrections (ADC) website. The site maintains an online database of inmates (current and former), and the database allows users to search public records using criteria such as name, date of birth, or offense type. The ADC's automated inmate lookup system can provide detailed information about an individual’s criminal record, including their current status in prison, sentence length and release date.
Alternately, inquirers can use the Arkansas Crime Information Center (ACIC). The portal allows users to access a variety of criminal justice resources, including arrest records and court dispositions. It also provides information on parolees, probationers, and sex offenders in the state.
Are Police Records Public in Arkansas?
Yes, per Arkansas public record laws, police records are deemed public information and are available to interested members of the public. Police records are documents detailing all arrest records, reports of incidents where an officer was called, police statements made during investigations and other documents that may have been generated during law enforcement activities are considered public record.
However, some of these documents may contain sensitive information, such as medical details or personal contact information. In these cases, the department may not provide access to the information.
How to Obtain Police Records in Arkansas
Interested members of the public can request police records directly from the local law enforcement agency, or they can submit a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the custodian of the record to access it.
To request a record, inquirers must provide as much information as possible, including the date and time of the incident, names and locations involved, type of offense and specific details about what kind of documents are being requested.
Are Police Reports Public Record?
Police reports are public record in Arkansas and may be accessed by anyone upon submission of a FOIA request. However, certain sensitive information may be redacted before releasing the report if deemed necessary by the department.
How to File a Police Report with Arkansas Law Enforcement
Persons who wish to file a report can do so online or by contacting the local law enforcement agency or sheriff’s office in the county where an incident occured.
In either case, the individuals concerned should provide as much information as possible about the incident, including date, time and location of the incident; names of those involved; type of offense committed; description of any injury sustained; and any other relevant details.
Where to Find Free Public Police Records
Free public police records may be obtained by querying the law enforcement offices in the jurisdiction where the incident occurred. In selected cases, inquirers will be allowed to view the information being sought if they do not require copies of the record to be made. However, should the requestor need copies, they will have to cover the cost of the record duplication alongside providing the information needed to facilitate the record search.
How to Find Mugshots in Arkansas
Mugshots in Arkansas can be found by visiting the website of the local law enforcement agency or sheriff’s office where the individual was arrested. In most cases the arresting agency will list the personal information of inmates on their inmate roaster, along with details of their offense, bail and possible release date (and conditions for release). However, to protect the privacy of selected offenders, not all mugshots are made available to the public.